Who is Who in Central & East Europe 1933

Home, Overview, Politics


Stephan Count Bethlen von Bethlen, Royal Hungarian Minister, retired, Budapest ->
began his political career in 1901 as a Member of Parliament. He has been active for an independent Hungary. When Nikilaus von Horthy was - by conclusion of the First National Assembly - elected Regent of Hungary, he nominated Count Bethlen as Prime Minister. He acquired the friendship of Mussolini and Italy for Hungary and retired in 1931.

Blasius de Bethlen Bethlen, Agriculturist, Budapest ->
After college examination at Cluj, he went to a reform college. He was Minister of railways in Budapest (1892-1910); a member of the Hungarian House of Commons, (1910-1916), and "Obergespan" (Chief Governor of a Province) of the Province Szolnok-Doboka and Benterce Naszod. He abdicated at the dethronement of the cabinet of Count Stephen Tisza. Since then he is involved in agriculture, and he takes an active part in the Calvinist (presbyterian) ecclesiastical life.

Theodor Fischer, Doctor of Law, barrister, Member of Parliament, Cluj ->
He was a Barrister in Albajulia since 1911 in Cluj and was an expert for Commercial and Mining Law. In the World War he was a First Lieutenant in the Austro Hungarian Artillery (Aide-de-Camp, Referent with the Isonzo Army). He headed the National Jewish State Party of Transylvania until 1923 and since that year has been Honorable President for Life. He was Alderman of Cluj in 1926, and a Member of Parliament in 1928 (several sensational speeches in Parliament). He succeeded in founding the Jewish State Party for Rumania in 1931 and was nominated President of that Party. By his efforts the Party won 2 seats in Parliament.

Onisifor Ghibu Cluj, Professor in University, Cluj ->
He is a member of National Council of Rumania. He emigrated from Austro Hungaria (Odessa 1917-1918), and was a delegate of Bessarabia at the National Association of Rumanians in the Ukraine. In 1917, he became deputy of the First Rumanian Parliament of Transylvania and in 1919, General Secretary of the Ministry of Public Instruction of Transylvania. He was a member of the committee which organized the Rumanian University of Cluj in 1919 and was senator of Province Orhain in Bessarabia from 1923 to 1927.

Leon Kozlowski, Professor; President of Council of Ministries of Poland, Warsaw ->
In 1926 he was one of the organizers of the Union pour le Rédressement de la République and he transformed later a bloc in collaboration with the Government. He was in the diet of 1928, and in 1929 when Mr. Bartel resigned, he was elected deputy and took an active part in the parliamentary work.

Ures Krulj, Minister of Public Health; Vice President of Senat, Belgrade ->
is the founder of the newspaper "Narod" (1907) in Mostar. At the first election for the Bosnia-Herzogwinian diet he was elected deputy; then also for the Province Council of Bosnia Herzogwinia. The day of the Austro Hungarian mobilization he was put in a military prison in Mostar and then was kept in confinement in Bihatch for 2 1/2 years. After the proclamation of the Union, he was nominated first Minister of Public Health, and for the second time he was nominated Minister of Public Health in the Cabinet of the General Petar Zivkovitch.

Stephan Kyroff, Ordinary Professor of Public Law, University of Sofia ->
is the chief promoter for the introduction of proportional elections in Bulgaria and the establishment of administration justice. He stands at the head of the peace movement in Bulgaria and in 1908 he established the Committee of Federation with Turkey and the other Balkan States.

Henryk Loewenherz, Advocate, Lwów and Warsaw ->
is a member of Council of the Polish-French Parliamentary group and of the Polish Rumanian Parliamentary group. He is a former Sejm deputy and a member of the commission of the Ministry Council for the politic of minorities. He is also deputy for the Polish population of East-Little-Poland to the Conference of Peace of Versailles and Saint-Germain.

Jan (Jean) Malypetr, Landed Proprietor; and Prime Minister, Prague ->
Having finished his studies he took over the estate of his father and took part in public and political life. In 1918 he became a member of the revolutionary national assembly. From 1922-1926 he was a minister of the interior; from 1926-1932 he was president of the chamber of deputies and since 1932 he is the prime minister.

Georg Mercouris, Doctor of Law; Advocate; State-official, Athens ->
was Minister of Food and Water Supplies in 1921, and he distinguishes himself as a collaborateur of the late Premier, Dem. Gounaris. He has been entrusted with various diplomatic missions abroad, and acted as Greek delegate on a number of International Congresses. He was one of the pioneers and founders of the "Association pour le Rapprochement Balkonique" and of the Greco-Turkish League, of which he was President. In this capacity he succeeded in carrying a vote for the admission of the representatives of Fascist workmen, a question which had remained in suspense ever since the advent of the Fascism. He stood for the idea of an ecumenical Government and in consequence of his disagreement with the leader of the Populist party on this point, he refused to be a candidate for the General Election in November 1932. He then founded the National-Socialist Party in February 1933.

Ladislas Paczoski, Director of the Juridical Bureau of the Presidency of the Council of Ministries, Warsaw ->
was in the political administration of ancient Galicia under the Austrian Government up to 1918 and in March 1919 he became the Warsaw General Commissary for the East Polish Party, in October 1919 the President, and is Director since 1932.

Václav Popelka, Editor and owner of book printing office and writer, Zizkov, Prague ->
worked for an improvement in the system of Insane Asylums and for a reform of various civil and penal laws in a progressive and humanistic way.

Georges Rhallys, Lawyer and dentist, Athens ->
was proposed by the revolutionary Government of Mr. Krokidas and by the president of the new republic for the Ministry of Justice and was elected to the Senate in 1922. He handed his resignation protesting against the politic of Mr. Cafandaris and at the elections of March 1933 he was elected to the Dept. of Athens.

Stefan Starzynski, Vice-Minister, Warsaw ->
was a member of the Committee for the Re-evacuation of Moscow from 1921-24 and is Vice Minister since 1924. He is on leave since 1933 to accept a position as Vice President of the State Economic Bank. He was a Member of Parliament (Sejm) 1930-1933.

Djafer Ypi, Premier Minister, Tirana ->
As a regent, Premier Minister and Minister of Justice and of Public Instruction he exercised great activity for the Improvement of the country. Chief Inspector of the Royal Court.